DemoCamp Ottawa

I’ve decided to take the plunge and demo one of the Rails applications I developed at DemoCamp Ottawa on Sept 29th. Why am I doing this? I’m probably going to ask myself that question for the next 14 days! But what I really want to do is get more involved with the start up community in Ottawa. I’m also looking for people to assist with this project and any other projects people have thought up but really don’t have the resources to do by themselves – think of it as a kind of like a “start up co-op”.

The point of this exercise is really to have some fun cutting our teeth launching a startup – then we’ll see where it goes from there. My application (in its current state at least) is nothing to write home about but then again it actually works – my family uses it all the time. It needs a registration system, some good design work and some marketing. Oh yeah, some advice from someone who has actually launched a successful start up would be nice too! If anyone can help in these areas come to DemoCampOttawa10 and let’s talk!

I’m told by Ian Graham at The Code Factory that DemoCamp is fun, friendly and very informal and a great venue for exactly what I’m trying to do. Let’s hope he’s right!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

